Public persona and permeable boundaries

One of the challenging and delightful discoveries for me in Click2Save
is the possibility that I might loosen my death grip on my personal life as a private entity and share my story more freely on Facebook. The suggestion that people in the congregation might be helped by knowing me as a real person was a revelation to me. As I thought about the folks that already comment on my personal Facebook page, I realize that they were learning from and about me, sharing struggles I have, celebrating life transitions. And I have been commenting on their trials, joys, questions and celebrations. We were pilgrims on a journey together.
Perhaps I have been so intent on protecting myself that I have blocked opportunities for sharing the good news, witnessing to my faith and listening to others. I feel that my recent engagement in Facebook has allowed me to show myself and hear others. One post I share regularly is an evening prayer from the Episcopal Church–it always gets a response, but more to the point it reminds me to pray before I go to bed at night.

Click2Save has been extremely helpful to me. I love the practical advice. I can use it as I work on my own media presence and consider our mission and message at the church. I like the notion of moving from novice to oblate to superior. I plan to take my vows very soon.

2 thoughts on “Public persona and permeable boundaries

  1. Albert says:

    Lovingsfts, I am so moved by the terminology of the “death grip on personal life” these are fears that I understand fully and yet in “Click2save”, there is an invitation if you will, to approach the sacrifice of self to reach with a life vest someone with a need for the christian life.

    Like

Leave a comment